Stegher

Stegher

Stegerhof, S. Giorgio, Bolzano

Heinrich and Roland Pircher

Standing on your own two feet.

To get an idea of the hard work the winegrower has to do at the Stegerhof, you should take a walk up the old road to San Genesio Atesino. It winds its way steeply up the slope and takes your breath away – as does the magnificent view. To be a winegrower up here you have to be able to stand on your own two feet – literally, as the slopes are so steep in places that heavy machinery simply cannot be used. A laughing Heinrich Pircher says: “I built the walls for the terracing that you can see from here with my own hands.”

A successful white wine tradition.

A successful white wine tradition.

The long years of hard work have paid off: At an altitude of between 500 and 600 meters, the Stegerhof has become the home to top-class wines. The Chardonnay grapes especially do particularly well on the loamy porphyry soil and reward the winegrower in autumn with their ripe golden yellow juice, which is then transformed into a wine of fine elegance in the cellars of the Bolzano Winery. His son Roland, who will one day take over the vineyard, also works there. His aim is to continue with the successful white wine tradition that his father has established on the steep slopes of the vineyard.

Vines also have eyes.

The façade of the house has two painted frescos, one of St. Florian and one of St. Urban. The former offers protection from fire and the latter protection for the vines. The Pircher family has been running the farm, that was originally called Stegher, for over 400 years. Good fortune has been their constant companion since 1651. “On such a site, it takes passion and personal commitment to grow wine,” says Heinrich Pircher, who likes to reward himself on a quiet day with a glass of Chardonnay and the almost endless vista from Bolzano to the Mendola Ridge. Vines also have eyes, they say – and maybe that is why they feel so very much at home up here …

Vines also have eyes.
Stegher Stegher

Stegher

Stegher

Stegerhof, St. Georgen, Bozen

Heinrich und Roland Pircher

Die Lage erfordert Stehvermögen.

Um ermessen zu können, welche Mühe der Winzer vom Stegerhof auf sich nimmt, sollte man den alten Fahrweg nach Jenesien zu Fuß nehmen. Steil windet er sich den Hang hinauf und nimmt jedem den Atem – auch der grandiosen Aussicht wegen. Wer hier Wein anbaut, braucht ein gutes Stehvermögen, denn die teilweise extremen Steillagen lassen sich nicht mit schwerem Gerät befahren. Heinrich Pircher sagt lachend: „Die Terrassenmauern, die man von hier sieht, habe ich mit eigenen Händen gemauert.“

Eine erfolgreiche Weißwein-Tradition.

Eine erfolgreiche Weißwein-Tradition.

Die jahrelange, harte Arbeit hat sich gelohnt. Denn rund um den Stegerhof wächst auf einem Höhenniveau zwischen 500 und 600 Metern ein Spitzenwein. Vor allem die Chardonnay-Trauben fühlen sich auf dem lehmhaltigen Porphyrboden wohl und danken es dem Winzer im Herbst mit einem ausgereiften goldgelbem Saft, der anschließend in den Kellern der Bozner Kellerei seine feine Eleganz entwickelt. Dort arbeitet auch Sohn Roland, der den Weinhof einmal übernehmen wird. Er will die erfolgreiche Weißwein-Tradition, die sein Vater auf den Steilhängen begründete, weiter fortsetzen.

Auch Rebstöcke haben "Augen".

An der Hausfassade sind zwei Fresken aufgemalt, der Heilige Florian und der Heilige Urban. Der erste soll den Hof vor einer Feuersbrunst bewahren, der zweite die Rebstöcke beschützen. Über 400 Jahren bewirtschaften die Pirchers schon den Hof der ursprünglich einmal Stegher hieß. Das Glück wohnte seit dem Jahr 1651 immer mit unter dem Dach. „Man kann in dieser Lage nur mit Leidenschaft und persönlichem Einsatz Weinbau betreiben“, sagt Heinrich Pircher, der sich an manchen ruhigen Tagen mit einem Glas Chardonnay und der fast unendlich weiten Aussicht von Bozen bis zum Mendelkamm belohnt. Auch Rebstöcke haben „Augen“, sagt man – und vielleicht fühlen sie sich ja auch deshalb hier oben so wohl …

Auch Rebstöcke haben
Stegher Stegher